What is Palliative Care?

Palliative care refers to care for patients and their families who are facing a serious, life-limiting illness. Palliative care is patient-centred coordinated care that aims to relieve suffering and improve quality of life for patients and their families at all stages of the illness. Palliative care focuses on a holistic approach to treat the impact that an illness has on patients and their families, and is often provided in addition to clinical care that focuses on treating the illness itself.

What types of services are provided?

The types of palliative care services that may be provided include:

  • Physician and nursing services to assess and manage the progression of the illness. This includes providing pain and symptom management to improve comfort and quality of life
  • Personal support services (e.g., homemaking)
  • Psychological, social services, spiritual and bereavement support
  • Other services, such as physiotherapy, caregiver support, pharmacy

How can I access palliative care?

Palliative care can be provided or accessed through the following channels:

  1. Your primary health care provider (e.g. family doctor). Many types of palliative care are provided directly by primary health care providers who are already treating individuals for disease. For individuals requiring more specialized services, primary health care providers can provide appropriate referrals.
  2. Your local Home and Community Care Support Services organization can refer you to hospice or provide other support services
  3. Your local hospital
  4. Your long-term care home

Where is palliative care provided?

Palliative care is delivered in all care settings, including the following:
  • Individual homes
  • Hospices
  • Long-Term Care Homes
  • Hospitals

What does it cost to receive palliative care?

There is no cost to patients for medically necessary palliative care services in their homes, hospices, or hospitals. For example, this includes any treatments that a physician may provide. While residents of long-term care homes may pay a co-payment, these funds represent the individual's contribution to food and accommodations – not palliative care services.

What supports exist for caregivers?

The Ontario Caregiver Organization supports caregivers across Ontario with a suite of programs and resources including the 24/7 Ontario Caregiver Helpline 1-833-416-2273 (CARE), counselling and peer support groups, webinars, tip sheets and checklists.

Your local Home and Community Care Support Services organization can also provide more information or local caregiver supports.

What is Advance Care Planning?

Advance Care Planning is a process that encourages patients, family members and health care providers to talk about patients' health care wishes, in case there comes a time when the patient may not be able to make his or her own health care decisions. While Advanced Care Planning conversations can be difficult, they help support patient-centred palliative care and help friends and family by taking away some of the stress and uncertainty that comes at an already emotional time.

How are palliative care and medical assistance in dying related?

As of June 6, 2016, medical assistance in dying will be permitted in Canada. This will not change how Ontario patients with life-limiting illness access other medical treatments, including palliative care.

Based on the experience of other countries, only a small number of Ontarians will choose to access medical assistance in dying. Patients with life-limiting illnesses will generally choose to access palliative care and other treatments.

  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

En quoi consistent les soins palliatifs?

Par soins palliatifs, on entend les soins offerts aux patients atteints de maladies graves limitant l’espérance de vie et à leurs familles. Les soins palliatifs consistent en une approche coordonnée et axée sur les patients qui vise à soulager la souffrance et à améliorer la qualité de vie des patients et des familles à tous les stades de la maladie. Les soins palliatifs sont fondés sur une approche holistique pour le traitement des effets de la maladie sur les patients et leurs familles, et s’ajoutent souvent à d’autres soins cliniques visant à traiter la maladie elle-même.

Quels types de services sont fournis?

Les types de services de soins palliatifs qui peuvent être fournis incluent :

  • Les services de médecins et d'infirmières pour évaluer et gérer l'évolution de la maladie. Cela inclut la gestion de la douleur et des symptômes pour améliorer le confort et la qualité de vie
  • Des services de soutien personnel (p. ex., services ménagers)
  • Des services de soutien psychologique, social, spirituel et de deuil
  • D'autres services, comme de la physiothérapie, du soutien à la personne soignante, des services pharmaceutiques et sociaux

Comment accéder aux soins palliatifs?

Il est possible d'obtenir des soins palliatifs ou d'y accéder par les canaux suivants :

  1. Votre fournisseur de soins primaires (p. ex., votre médecin de famille). Les fournisseurs de soins primaires des malades offrent beaucoup de types de soins palliatifs. Ils peuvent orienter les personnes qui ont besoin de services plus spécialisés vers les ressources appropriées.
  2. Votre organisation locale des Services de soutien à domicile et en milieu communautaire peut vous orienter vers un établissement de soins palliatifs ou vous fournir d’autres services de soutien.
  3. L'hôpital local
  4. Votre foyer de soins de longue durée

Où les soins palliatifs sont-ils prodigués?

Les soins palliatifs sont fournis dans tous les milieux de soins, y compris :

  • Les maisons individuelles
  • Les hospices
  • Les foyers de soins de longue durée
  • Les hôpitaux

Combien coûtent les soins palliatifs?

Les patients qui reçoivent des soins palliatifs médicalement nécessaires chez eux, dans un hospice ou dans un hôpital n'ont pas de frais à payer; par exemple, les traitements fournis par un médecin. Même si les résidents de foyers de soins de longue durée peuvent devoir verser une contribution, ces fonds représentent leur participation aux frais d'alimentation et de logement, et non pas aux coûts des soins palliatifs.

Quels soutiens sont offerts aux personnes soignantes?

L’Organisme de soutien aux aidants naturels de l’Ontario offre un soutien aux soignants partout dans la province grâce à un ensemble de programmes et de ressources, notamment une ligne d’assistance aux aidants naturels ouverte 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7 au 1 833 416-2273 (CARE), des services de counseling et de soutien par les pairs, des webinaires, des fiches d’information et des listes de contrôle.

Votre organisation locale des Services de soutien à domicile et en milieu communautaire peut aussi fournir d’autres renseignements ou des soutiens locaux aux soignants.

Qu'est-ce que la planification préalable des soins?

La planification préalable des soins est un processus qui encourage les patients, les membres de la famille et les fournisseurs de soins à parler des souhaits du patient en matière de soins s'il arrive qu'il ne soit pas en mesure de prendre lui-même des décisions. Même si les conversations sur la planification préalable des soins peuvent être difficiles, elles facilitent les soins palliatifs axés sur le patient et soulagent les amis et la famille en leur évitant une partie du stress et de l'incertitude qui surviennent à un moment déjà chargé d'émotion.

Quel est le lien entre les soins palliatifs et l'aide médicale à mourir?

À partir du 6 juin 2016, l'aide médicale à mourir sera permise au Canada. Cela ne changera pas la façon dont les patients de l'Ontario atteints d'une maladie qui limite l'espérance de vie accèderont à d'autres traitements médicaux, y compris les soins palliatifs.

L'expérience d'autres pays laisse présumer que seul un petit nombre de citoyens de l'Ontario choisiront l'aide médicale à mourir. Les patients atteints d'une maladie qui limite l'espérance de vie choisiront généralement les soins palliatifs et d'autres traitements.

  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS