Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Research at the Ministry of Health

The COVID-19 Challenge Questions Initiative

The COVID-19 Challenge Questions Initiative has been established by the Ontario Ministry of Health to help ensure that researchers accessing the Ontario Health Data Platform (OHDP) address high priority COVID-19 research questions. This initiative is open to researchers across Ontario, including those not using the OHDP.

The objective of the COVID-19 Challenge Questions Initiative is to accelerate the generation and translation of research and data analytic insights into action. It is meant to quickly generate responses with researchers working collaboratively with knowledge users to respond to Ontario’s most pressing needs. Projects will ideally provide fulsome responses to posted Challenge Questions in short timelines.

Challenge Questions are complex questions that are aligned with government priorities and the COVID-19 Health Research Priorities Framework. The COVID-19 Challenge Question Initiative serves as a call to action for collaboration across machine learning and the wider health research community. It will be based on an integrated knowledge translation (iKT)1 approach and challenges researchers to answer complex questions with actionable solutions.

Research Areas and Challenge Questions have been developed through discussions with key Ministry COVID-19 advisory committees and with practitioners, researchers, data experts, policy knowledge users, and patients/family advisors.

Please note that the COVID-19 Challenge Questions Initiative is not a research grant funding opportunity. It is an opportunity for integrated knowledge translation. Expressions of Interest to the Challenge Questions should have enough funding to undertake the work.

Challenge Questions Research Areas:

The Challenge Questions are grouped into seven broad research areas:

  1. Vaccination Strategy
  2. Therapeutic Treatment Options and Outcomes
  3. Pandemic Waves
  4. Testing and Surveillance Strategies
  5. Population Level Prevention and Containment
  6. Health System Resourcing
  7. Health Equity and Vulnerable Populations

Please read this full list of Challenge Questions.

Submitting Expression of Interest and Answering the COVID-19 Challenge Questions

The Challenge Question Initiative is a non-competitive program. Expressions of Interest will be accepted on a rolling basis.

Eligibility:

  • Researchers in Ontario-based universities and other academic institutions
  • Researchers in Ontario-based non-profit organizations

Incentives to Participate:

  • Researcher receives prioritized access to the OHDP
  • New data sets needed to address the CQs are prioritized for addition to the OHDP
  • Provincial recognition and exposure to decision makers.

Stages

Stage 1: Submit Expression of Interest

Researchers are required to submit an expression of interest (EOI) for each Challenge Question they plan to answer. A PDF version of the full application is available on the website. Please note that the PDF version is provided for your planning purposes only and cannot be used to submit an application to the OHDP; all applications must be submitted by completing Expression of Interest Form located on the Ontario Health Data Platform website.

Stage 2: Connect with Knowledge Users

Researchers will be connected with relevant knowledge users (KUs) and COVID-19 advisory committees to enable integrated knowledge translation (iKT). This will be done through structured mechanisms to clarify questions, test assumptions, and share ongoing analysis. Researchers will be provided with the opportunity to participate in a Challenge Question Team with other researchers in the research area.

Stage 3: Submit Answers and Actionable Insights

Researchers will be asked to submit their proposed Challenge Question answer via a Challenge Questions Summary of Findings Form. A reference PDF version of this form can be found on the Ontario Health Data Platform (OHDP) COVID-19 website for planning purposes (each CQI researcher will directly receive a unique link to a fillable Summary of Findings form).

The Ministry will assess the Summary of Findings based on the following criteria:

  • Ability to convey findings to policy makers (e.g. plain language)
  • Increased understanding of issue and/or tangible solution or tool (i.e. how well the response adds to understanding of the issue and/or provides a tangible solution for further scope and scale)
  • Feasibility or actionability of guidance/solution provided.

Feedback on proposals will be provided to researchers including potential next steps and further opportunities to share results (e.g. at ministry advisory committees or other venues and OHDP website).

Strong results may be profiled on the ministry and/or Ontario Health Data Platform websites and highlighted in the ministry COVID-19 Evidence Update. There could also potentially be COVID-19 Challenge Question Initiative Recognition Awards.

More Information

  • General OHDP inquiries can be directed to info@ohdp.ca
  • Inquiries related to submitting an OHDP application should contact applicationsupport@ohdp.ca
  • Inquiries related to the Challenge Question Program should be directed to the Research Analysis and Evaluation Branch at the Ministry of Health through researchunit@ontario.ca


1 iKT is an approach to doing research that applies the principles of knowledge translation to the entire research process. The central premise of iKT is that involving knowledge users as equal partners alongside researchers will lead to research that is more relevant to, and more likely to be useful to, the knowledge users.  Each stage in the research process is an opportunity for significant collaboration with knowledge users, including the development or refinement of the research questions, selection of the methodology, data collection and tools development, selection of outcome measures, interpretation of the findings, crafting of the message and dissemination of the results.

Source: https://cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/45321.html

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1–866–532–3161 (Toll–free)
In Toronto, (416) 314–5518
TTY 1–800–387–5559.
In Toronto, TTY (416)327–4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm

 
  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

La recherche au ministère de la Santé

Aperçu de l’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19

Mise sur pied par le ministère de la Santé de l’Ontario, l’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19 vise à faire en sorte que les chercheurs ayant accès à la plateforme ontarienne des données sur la santé (PODSexaminent les questions de recherche hautement prioritaires sur la COVID-19. Cette initiative s’adresse à tous les chercheurs de l’Ontario, y compris ceux qui n’utilisent pas la PODS.

L’objectif de l’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19 consiste à accélérer la production de données de recherche et d’aperçus analytiques qui se traduiront en mesures d’intervention. Elle vise à générer rapidement des réponses grâce à des chercheurs qui travaillent en collaboration avec des utilisateurs des connaissances pour répondre aux besoins les plus criants de l’Ontario. Idéalement, les projets offriront des réponses complètes aux questions-défis affichées dans de courts délais.

Les questions-défis sur la COVID-19 sont des questions complexes qui s’alignent avec les priorités du gouvernement et le Cadre de priorités de recherche en santé sur la COVID-19. L’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19 sert d’appel à la collaboration entre les intervenants de la communauté d’apprentissage machine et de l’ensemble de la communauté de recherche en santé. Elle sera fondée sur une approche axée sur l’application des connaissances intégrée (ACI)1 et invite les chercheurs à répondre à des questions complexes en proposant des solutions réalisables.

Les sujets de recherche et les questions-défis ont été conçus dans le cadre de discussions avec les principaux comités consultatifs du ministère sur la COVID-19 du Ministère ainsi qu’avec des praticiens, des chercheurs, des experts en données, des utilisateurs des connaissances et des conseillers des patients et familles.

Veuillez prendre note que l’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19 ne constitue pas une possibilité d’obtenir une subvention. Il s’agit d’une possibilité d’application intégrée des connaissances. Les auteurs de déclaration d’intérêt envers les questions-défis doivent disposer d’un financement suffisant pour entreprendre les travaux.

Sujets de recherche des questions-défis

Les questions-défis sont réparties en sept grands sujets de recherche :

  1. Stratégie de vaccination
  2. Traitements thérapeutiques possibles et résultats
  3. Vagues de la pandémie
  4. Stratégies de dépistage et de surveillance
  5. Prévention concernant la population et confinement
  6. Ressourcement du système de santé
  7. Équité en matière de santé et populations vulnérables

Veuillez lire la liste complète de questions-défis figurant ci-dessous.

Présentation d’un formulaire de déclaration d’intérêt et réponse aux questions-défis sur la COVID-19.

L’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19 est un programme non concurrentiel. Les déclarations d’intérêt seront acceptées sur une base continue.

Admissibilité :

  • Chercheurs d’universités et autres établissements universitaires de l’Ontario
  • Chercheurs d’organismes sans but lucratif basés en Ontario.

Incitatifs à participer :

  • Les chercheurs profitent d’un accès prioritaire à la PODS.
  • Les nouveaux ensembles de données nécessaires pour répondre aux questions-défis sont choisis en priorité pour être ajoutés à la PODS.  
  • Les chercheurs profitent d’une reconnaissance à l’échelle provinciale et ont une chance de se faire connaître auprès des décideurs.

Étapes du processus

Première étape : Présentation d’une déclaration d’intérêt

Les chercheurs doivent présenter une déclaration d’intérêt pour chaque question-défi à laquelle ils prévoient répondre. Une version PDF (en anglais seulement) du formulaire de demande complet se trouve sur le site Web. Veuillez prendre note que la version PDF vous est fournie aux fins de planification uniquement et ne peut servir à présenter une demande à la PODS; toutes les demandes doivent être transmises en remplissant le formulaire de déclaration d’intérêt (en anglais seulement), que vous trouverez dans le microsite de la Plateforme ontarienne des données sur la santé.

Deuxième étape : Jumelage avec les utilisateurs des connaissances

Les chercheurs seront jumelés aux utilisateurs des connaissances concernés et aux comités consultatifs sur la COVID-19 pour permettre une approche axée sur l’application des connaissances intégrée (ACI). Cela se fera au moyen de mécanismes structurés, qui permettront de clarifier des questions, de vérifier des hypothèses et de partager des analyses en cours. Les chercheurs auront la possibilité de participer à une équipe Question-défi (QD) avec d’autres chercheurs du domaine de recherche.

Troisième étape : Présentation des réponses et des données recevables

Les chercheurs devront transmettre la réponse qu’ils proposent à la question-défi au moyen d’un formulaire de résumé des conclusions des questions-défis. Une version PDF de ce formulaire (en anglais seulement) à titre de référence se trouve sur le site Web de la Plateforme ontarienne des données sur la santé pour la COVID-19 (chaque chercheur de l’IQD recevra un lien unique menant à un formulaire de résumé des conclusions à remplir).

Le Ministère évaluera le Résumé des conclusions en se fondant sur les critères suivants :

  • Capacité à transmettre les conclusions aux décideurs (p. ex. langage clair)
  • Compréhension accrue de l’enjeu ou de l’outil/de la solution concrète (c.-à-d. la mesure dans laquelle la réponse permet de mieux comprendre l’enjeu ou présente une solution concrète à explorer plus à fond)
  • Possibilité de mettre en pratique les conseils/la solution proposé(e)(s)

De la rétroaction sur les propositions sera donnée aux chercheurs, y compris des indications sur les prochaines étapes possibles et de nouvelles possibilités de partager les résultats (c.-à-d., devant des comités consultatifs du ministère ou d’autres tribunes et dans le microsite de l’OHDP).

Les résultats importants seront présentés sur les sites Web du ministère de la Santé ou de la Plateforme ontarienne des données sur la santé et mis en évidence dans les Mises à jour des données probantes sur la COVID-19 du ministère de la Santé. Ils pourraient également être récompensés d’un prix de reconnaissance dans le cadre de l’Initiative des questions-défis sur la COVID-19.

Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Les demandes de renseignements générales concernant l’OHDP peuvent être acheminées à info@ohdp.ca
  • Les demandes de renseignements concernant la présentation d’une demande relative à la PODS devraient être acheminées à applicationsupport@ohdp.ca
  • Les demandes de renseignements concernant le programme des questions défi devraient être acheminées à la Direction de la recherche, de l’analyse et de l’évaluation du ministère de la Santé par l’entremise de researchunit@ontario.ca


1 L’ACI est une approche dans la réalisation de la recherche où les principes de l'application des connaissances sont appliqués à l'ensemble du processus de recherche. La prémisse au cœur de l'ACi est que la participation des utilisateurs des connaissances en tant que partenaires égaux aux côtés des chercheurs donnera lieu à une recherche plus pertinente pour les utilisateurs des connaissances et plus susceptible de leur être utile. Chaque étape du processus de recherche offre une possibilité de collaboration importante avec les utilisateurs de la recherche, notamment pour définir ou affiner les questions de recherche, choisir la méthodologie, recueillir les données et créer des outils, choisir les critères d'évaluation, interpréter les conclusions, rédiger soigneusement le message et disséminer les résultats.

Source : https://cihr-irsc.gc.ca/f/45321.html#a3

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 
  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS