Publications

Zika Virus

Zika virus infection is caused by a virus which is spread by the bite of infected Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus mosquitos. These are the same mosquitos that spread Dengue, Chikungunya and yellow fever viruses.

These mosquitos are not established in Canada and are not well-suited to our climate.

Zika virus has been reported in Africa and parts of Asia since the 1950s and in the southwestern Pacific Ocean in 2007. In 2015, Zika virus emerged in South America. More recently, the virus has caused widespread outbreaks across Central and South America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.

There have been reports of a serious birth defect called microcephaly (a condition in which a baby's head is smaller than expected when compared to babies of the same sex and age) in babies of mothers who were infected with Zika virus while pregnant.

It is recommended that pregnant women and those considering becoming pregnant discuss their travel plans with their health care provider to assess their risk and consider postponing travel to areas where the Zika virus is circulating. If travel cannot be postponed, then strict mosquito bite prevention measures should be followed to protect themselves against bites.

Provincial Reporting

Laboratory-confirmed travel-related cases of Zika virus in Ontario^ as of February 28, 2016

Number of laboratory-confirmed* cases Countries of Travel§
288* Aruba, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Columbia, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, French West Indies, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saba, South Caribbean, St. Lucia, St. Martin / St. Maarten, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Turks and Caicos Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela

*Note: Four of the 288 laboratory-confirmed cases of Zika virus in Ontario are non-travel related.

  • *Laboratory testing is currently being performed by the National Microbiology Laboratory.
  • §The countries listed are based on the travel history provided by the person tested. In some instances, a person may have travelled to multiple countries prior to infection.
    The countries listed are based on the travel history provided by cases, however, this listing does not reflect the risk of acquisition of Zika virus. The World Health Organization and the Pan American Health Organization currently list the following countries as having local transmission of Zika virus: American Samoa, Aruba, Barbados, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bonaire, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, Gabon, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Jamaica, Lao People, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saint Maarten, Solomon Islands, Suriname, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).
  • ^Please note, the ministry will be updating this website each week on Wednesday.

Transmission

While the majority of Zika virus cases will be caused by bites from infected mosquitos, there is evidence that mother-to-child transmission may occur. There have been a few reports identifying the possibility of transmission of the virus via transfusion of infected blood, or possible sexual transmission of Zika virus. Further study is required to evaluate the modes of transmission.

Signs and symptoms

Following the bite of an infected mosquito, symptoms usually appear in 3–12 days. The symptoms are similar to those of Dengue and Chikungunya, and include fever, skin rashes, muscle and joint pain, headache and red eyes. The illness is usually mild with symptoms lasting from several days to a week. Most people infected with Zika virus have few or no symptoms and may be unaware that they are infected with the virus.

Diagnosis

Zika virus preliminary diagnosis is based on:

The virus is diagnosed based on laboratory test results. See your health care provider if you develop symptoms of Zika virus after travelling to at-risk areas.

Prevention and control

Currently, there is no vaccine or treatment for Zika virus. Prevention and control of Zika virus relies on reducing the number of mosquitos by removing and modifying their breeding sites and reducing contact between mosquitos and people. This can be done by:

  • Using insect repellent
  • Wearing light-coloured clothes that cover as much of the body as possible
  • Using physical barriers such as screens, closed doors and windows, and sleeping under mosquito nets at night.

Mosquitos carrying Zika virus are known to be mainly day feeders. Special attention and help should be given to those who may not be able to protect themselves adequately, such as young children, the sick or elderly.

Travellers, especially pregnant women, should take the basic precautions described above to protect themselves from mosquito bites and are advised to check with their health care providers before travel.

Treatment

Zika virus disease is usually mild and requires no specific treatment. People sick with Zika virus should get plenty of rest, drink enough fluids and treat pain and fever with common medicines. If symptoms worsen, they should seek medical care and advice.

Learn more

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Virus Zika

Les infections au virus Zika sont causées par un virus transmis par les piqûres de moustiques Aedes aegypti et Aedes albopictus infectés. Ce sont les mêmes moustiques qui transmettent la dengue, le chikungunya et la fièvre jaune.

Ces moustiques ne sont pas établis au Canada et sont mal adaptés à notre climat.

Le virus Zika a été signalé en Afrique et dans certaines parties de l'Asie dans les années 1950, et dans le sud-ouest de l'océan Pacifique en 2007. En 2015, le virus Zika est apparu en Amérique du Sud. Plus récemment, il y a eu de larges flambées en Amérique centrale et du Sud, au Mexique et dans les Caraïbes.

Des cas de microcéphalie ont été signalés chez les bébés de mères infectées par le virus Zika pendant leur grossesse. Il s'agit d'une anomalie congénitale grave où la tête d'un bébé est plus petite que prévu lorsqu'on la compare avec celle de bébés du même sexe et du même âge.

On recommande aux femmes enceintes et à celles qui pensent à le devenir de parler de leurs projets de voyage avec leur fournisseur de soins de santé pour évaluer le risque et de penser à la possibilité de retarder leur voyage si elles se rendent dans des lieux où le virus Zika circule. Si le déplacement ne peut pas être retardé, il convient de suivre des mesures de prévention strictes pour se protéger contre les piqûres de moustiques.

Signalement provincial

Cas d'infection au virus Zika rattachés à des voyages en Ontario confirmés par une analyse en laboratoire^ au 31 août – 2017

Nombre de cas confirmés en laboratoire* Pays visité§
306 Antilles françaises, Antigua-et-Barbuda, Aruba, Barbade, Bélize, Brésil, Caraïbes du Sud, Colombie, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Cuba, République dominicaine, Équateur, El Salvador, Grenade, Guatemala, Guyane, Haïti, Honduras, Îles Turques-et-Caïques, Îles Vierges britanniques, Jamaïque, Martinique, Mexique, Nicaragua, Panama, Pérou, Puerto Rico, Saba, St. Martin / St. Maarten, Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines, Sainte Lucie, Trinité-et-Tobago, Vénézuéla

*N. B. : quatre des 306 cas d'infection au virus Zika confirmés par une analyse en laboratoire n'est pas rattaché aux voyages.

  • §La liste des pays dans cette colonne est fondée sur l'historique de voyage fourni par la personne testée. Dans certains cas, la personne peut s'être rendue dans plusieurs pays avant que l'infection ne soit décelée.
    Cette liste de pays est fondée sur l'historique de voyage des personnes infectées, mais elle ne reflète pas le risque d'infection au virus Zika. Les pays suivants sont actuellement sur la liste de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé et de l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé comme étant des pays où le virus Zika circule : Samoa américaines, Aruba, Barbade, Bolivie (État plurinational de), Bonaire, Brésil, Cap-Vert, Cambodge, Colombie, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominique, République dominicaine, Équateur, El Salvador, Fiji, Guyane française, Polynésie française, Gabon, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyane, Haïti, Honduras, Indonésie, Jamaïque, peuple lao, Îles Maldives, Îles Marshall, Martinique, Mexique, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Porto Rico, Saint Martin, Saint-Vincent-et-les Grenadines, Sint Maarten, Samoa, Îles Salomon, Suriname, Thaïlande, Tonga, Trinité-et-Tobago, Vanuatu, Vénézuéla (République bolivarienne du).

Transmission

Bien que la majorité des cas de virus Zika soit causée par des piqûres de moustiques infectés, il se peut que la transmission de la mère à l'enfant soit possible. La possibilité d'une transmission sanguine par transfusion de sang infecté a été signalée dans quelques cas, ainsi que celle de transmission sexuelle. Des études plus approfondies sont nécessaires pour évaluer les modes de transmission.

Indications et symptômes

Les symptômes apparaissent généralement dans les 3 à 12 jours après une piqûre de moustique infecté. Ils sont semblables à ceux de la dengue et du chikungunya. Ils comprennent de la fièvre, des éruptions cutanées, des douleurs musculaires et articulaires, des maux de tête et des rougeurs aux yeux. La maladie est généralement bénigne et les symptômes durent de quelques jours à une semaine. Les gens infectés au Zika ont, pour la plupart, peu ou pas de symptômes et pourraient ne pas savoir qu'ils le sont.

Diagnostic

Un diagnostic de virus Zika préliminaire se fonde sur :

Le diagnostic d'infection repose sur les résultats de test en laboratoire. Si vous présentez des symptômes d'infection au virus Zika après avoir été dans une région à risque, consultez votre fournisseur de soins de santé.

Prévention et lutte contre le virus

Il n'existe actuellement aucun vaccin ou traitement contre le virus Zika. La prévention et la lutte contre le virus Zika reposent sur la réduction du nombre de moustiques grâce à l'élimination et à la modification de leurs sites de reproduction et à la réduction des contacts entre les moustiques et les humains. Ceci peut être réalisé :

  • en utilisant un insectifuge;
  • en portant des vêtements de couleur claire couvrant le plus possible le corps;
  • en utilisant des obstacles physiques comme des moustiquaires, des portes et des fenêtres fermées.

On sait que les moustiques porteurs du virus s'alimentent le jour. Une attention et de l'aide particulières devraient être apportées aux personnes incapables de se protéger adéquatement elles-mêmes comme les jeunes enfants, les personnes malades ou âgées.

Les voyageurs, les femmes enceintes en particulier, devraient prendre les précautions de base décrites ci-dessus afin de se protéger contre les piqûres de moustiques et consulter leur fournisseur de soins de santé avant de partir en voyage.

Traitement

Généralement, la maladie au virus Zika est bénigne et ne nécessite aucun traitement particulier. Les personnes atteintes du virus Zika doivent se reposer, boire suffisamment de liquides et traiter la douleur et la fièvre avec des médicaments utilisés à ces fins. Si les symptômes s'aggravent, elles devraient obtenir des soins et des conseils médicaux.

Pour en savoir davantage

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.