Newborn Screening

Getting the best start

To help your baby get the best start in life and stay healthy, your newborn – and every newborn in Ontario – can be screened for a number of rare but treatable diseases.

To learn more about newborn screening in Ontario, speak to your health care provider, visit the Newborn Screening Ontario (NSO) website, or call NSO at 1-877-NBS-8330 (1-877-627-8330).

Early detection leads to early treatment

Newborn Screening Ontario (NSO) screens for:

  • Metabolic diseases
  • Endocrine diseases
  • Sickle Cell Disease (SCD)
  • Cystic Fibrosis (CF)
  • Severe Combined Immune Deficiency (SCID)
  • Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD)

Although most babies with these diseases look healthy at birth, they may be at risk of having serious health problems. Their disease, if not detected and treated, may cause severe learning problems, frequent sickness and even death. Early identification could save your baby's life and is key to effective treatment.

All diseases included in newborn screening are rare. About 225 of the 143,000 (0.16 percent) babies born each year in Ontario will have one of these diseases. Even if no one in your family has one of these diseases, your baby still could. By testing a small amount of your baby's blood within the first days of life, these diseases can be identified early. The goal of screening is early detection so that treatment can be started early and better health can be achieved.

Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD) screening is done through a quick and painless test called pulse oximetry that measures the level of oxygen in a baby's blood. This test is done at the bedside and results are available right away. NSO oversees CCHD screening to support quality, consistency and access to CCHD screening for all babies in Ontario.

NSO, in collaboration with the Ontario Infant Hearing Program, screens for risk factors related to hearing loss using the newborn screening sample. This testing is only performed with a parent or guardian’s consent.

For a complete list of the diseases included in the screening, visit the NSO website.

Screening results: high risk and low risk

A screening test only shows whether there is a high risk (screen positive) or low risk (screen negative) that your baby has a disease. The test does not diagnose the disease. It identifies whether your baby needs further testing. Less than one per cent of babies will screen positive and need further testing.

Sometimes the first blood sample cannot be tested for different reasons. Sometimes there is not enough blood to do the test, or there is some other problem with the sample. If this is the case, NSO will contact the hospital or health care provider that sent in the sample and ask them for a new one. You will be contacted by the birth hospital or your health care provider if your baby needs to have another blood sample collected. This does not mean that your baby is at high risk (screen positive) for the diseases screened.

The test results are sent to the hospital or health care provider that sent in your baby's sample. If your baby screens positive, NSO will refer your baby to a specialized follow-up centre in your region for further testing to find out if your baby has the disease. You will be contacted by the centre if your baby screens positive so that further testing can be arranged. You will not be contacted if your baby screens negative.

In some cases, babies may need to have their CCHD screen repeated because their screening was incomplete. If your baby's CCHD screen was incomplete, you will be contacted by your health care provider or the hospital that performed the screen.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY (416)327-4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

 
  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Dépistage des maladies chez les nouveau-nés

Pour un meilleur départ

Afin d'aider votre bébé à prendre le meilleur départ possible dans la vie et à demeurer en santé, un dépistage néonatal de votre nouveau-né (et de tous les nouveau-nés en Ontario) permet de déceler plusieurs maladies rares, mais traitables.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le dépistage des maladies chez les nouveau-nés en Ontario, parlez à votre fournisseur de soins de santé, consultez le site Web du programme Dépistage néonatal Ontario (DNO) oou appelez DNO au 1 877 627-8330 (1 877 NBS-8330).

Une détection précoce favorise un traitement dès le départ

Le programme Dépistage néonatal Ontario effectue le dépistage :

  • des maladies métaboliques
  • des maladies endocriniennes
  • de la drépanocytose
  • de la fibrose kystique
  • du déficit immunitaire combiné sévère
  • des maladies cardiaques congénitales sévères

Bien que la plupart des nourrissons ayant ces maladies ait l'air en santé à la naissance, ils pourraient risquer d'avoir de graves problèmes de santé. Si la maladie n'est pas détectée et traitée, elle pourrait causer d'importants problèmes d'apprentissage, des affections fréquentes et même la mort. Le dépistage précoce est essentiel à un traitement efficace et pourrait sauver la vie de votre bébé.

Les maladies dépistées sont toutes rares. Environ 225 des 143 000 nourrissons nés chaque année en Ontario (soit 0,16 pour cent) auront l'une de ces maladies. Même si aucun membre de votre famille n'est atteint de l'une de ces maladies, votre nourrisson pourrait tout de même l'être. En testant un petit échantillon du sang de votre bébé prélevé dans les tout premiers jours suivant sa naissance, on peut traiter ces maladies dès le départ. Les risques de graves problèmes de santé plus tard dans la vie en sont ainsi diminués.

Le dépistage des maladies cardiaques congénitales sévères (MCCS) se fait par un test rapide et indolore appelé oximétrie pulsée, qui mesure le niveau d’oxygène dans le sang du bébé. Ce test se fait au chevet et les résultats sont disponibles immédiatement. DNO supervise le dépistage des MCCS pour soutenir la qualité, l’uniformité et l’accès au dépistage des MCCS pour tous les bébés en Ontario.

Pour obtenir une liste complète des maladies que le dépistage permet de détecter, veuillez visiter le site Web de DNO.

En collaboration avec le Programme de services d'audiologie pour les nourrissons de l’Ontario, DNO dépiste les facteurs de risque liés à la perte de l’ouïe en utilisant l’échantillon prélevé pour le dépistage néonatal. Ce test se fait avec le consentement d’un parent ou d'un gardien.

Résultats du dépistage : risque élevé et faible risque

Le dépistage permet de signaler que votre bébé présente un risque élevé d'une maladie (résultat positif) ou un faible risque (résultat négatif). Le test n'est pas en soi un diagnostic de maladie. Il indique la nécessité pour votre bébé de subir d'autres tests. Moins d'un pour cent des bébés auront besoin de tests supplémentaires.

Parfois, il n'est pas possible pour diverses raisons de tester le premier échantillon. Par exemple, l'échantillon était insuffisant pour réaliser le test ou posait problème. Dans ce cas, un représentant du programme DNO communique avec l'hôpital ou le professionnel de la santé qui a soumis l'échantillon, et en demande un nouveau. Votre fournisseur de soins de santé vous contactera pour vous informer qu'on doit prélever un autre échantillon de sang sur votre bébé. Cela ne signifie pas que votre bébé présente un risque élevé (résultat positif).

Les résultats du dépistage sur l’échantillon de sang sont envoyés à l'hôpital ou au professionnel de la santé qui a soumis l'échantillon de votre bébé. Si le résultat est positif, un représentant du programme DNO communiquera avec vous pour vous aiguiller vers un centre régional de traitement afin que votre bébé puisse subir d'autres tests pour savoir si votre bébé a la maladie. Le centre vous contactera si le résultat est positif. On ne communiquera pas avec vous si le résultat est négatif.

Pour en savoir plus

Appelez la ligne Info de ServiceOntario
1 800 268-1154 (sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 17 h