Home, Community and Residential Care Services

Seniors' Care: Long-Term Care Homes

Long-Term Care Homes are places where seniors can live and receive support services. They are often the right choice for seniors who need help with the activities of daily living, access to 24-hour nursing care or supervision in a secure setting.

In general, Long-Term Care Homes offer higher levels of personal care and support than those typically offered by either retirement homes or supportive housing.

Long-Term Care Homes are licensed or approved by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

All Long-Term Care Homes in Ontario (including those formerly known as Nursing Homes, Municipal Homes for the Aged, and Charitable Homes) are governed by the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 (LTCHA). The requirements in the LTCHA ensure that residents of these homes receive safe, consistent, and high-quality resident-centred care in settings where residents feel at home, are treated with respect, and have the supports and services they need for their health and well-being.

You can learn more on this page about:


Accommodations

Long-Term Care Homes offer a variety of options. People living in a Home pay a fee for accommodation that is based on the type or style of accommodation. A Home may offer "Preferred” accommodation, which is a private or semi-private room with special features, as well as “Basic” or “Standard” accommodation.

It is important to remember that the features of basic and preferred accommodation will vary, depending on when the particular Home was constructed or renovated.

All Long-Term Care Homes have dining rooms and common rooms, and some may also have features such as a lounge, gift shop, beauty salon, chapel, or garden.

Services

All Long-Term Care Homes offer 24-hour supervision and nursing care.
The basic accommodation package includes the following services:

  • Furnishings (for example, bed and chair), meals (including special diets), bed linens and laundry, personal hygiene supplies, medical/clinical supplies and devices (for example, walkers and wheelchairs for occasional use), housekeeping, pastoral services, social and recreational programs, medication administration, and assistance with the essential activities of daily living.
  • Nursing and personal care on a 24-hour basis and access to a physician and other health professionals.

Optional services are usually available for a fee. They may include services such as hairdressing, cable TV and telephone services, transportation.

Homes must prepare a "plan of care" for each resident, outlining the care requirements and levels of service offered. This plan must be reviewed at least every three months and adapted as the needs of the resident change.

Costs

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) provides funding for Long-Term Care (LTC) Home services.  The amount paid by residents for their LTC Home accommodation is called a "co-payment".  The co-payment contributes to the meal and accommodation services received by residents in LTC Homes.

There are three types of accommodation services provided in LTC Homes:

  1. Long-Stay
    • This is permanent accommodation for an indefinite period of time.
  2. Respite Care
    • This is a short-stay program for people whose caregiver requires temporary relief or for people who require temporary care.
    • The maximum number of days a person can stay in a LTC home for respite care is 60 continuous days or 90 days in a calendar year.
    • The ministry sets a fixed co-payment rate for short-term respite services. (See chart below.)
    • People can be admitted to this program directly from their home in the community or from the hospital.
  3. Convalescent Care
    • This is a short-stay care program for people who need to recover strength, endurance and function.
    • The maximum number of days a person can stay in a LTC home for convalescent care is 90 days in a calendar year.
    • People can be admitted to this program directly from their home in the community or from the hospital.
    • Residents in convalescent care beds are not required to pay a co-payment.  The goal is to help them return to the community with or without support.

The MOHLTC sets co-payment rates for accommodation. The following table shows resident co-payment rates effective July 1, 2013.  The co-payment rates change from time to time (usually, annually).  For the most up-to-date rates, contact the staff at your local Community Care Access Centre.

The following Bulletin provides important additional details on the July 1, 2013 changes to the co-payment rates for basic and preferred accommodation:

Maximum allowable co-payment charges Type Of Accommodation Co-Payment Daily Amount Co-Payment Monthly Amount
Long-Stay Program
Basic or standard accommodation Various styles (Depending on when the Home was constructed or renovated) $56.14 $1,707.59
Preferred accommodation Semi-private room $66.14 (Basic plus a maximum of $10.00) $2,011.76
Preferred accommodation Private room $77.64 (Basic plus a maximum of $21.50) $2,361.55
Short-Stay Program
$36.34 N/A

Notes: Optional services (e.g. cable TV or hairdressing), can be purchased for an additional fee. There is no preferred accommodation surcharge for short-stay residents in the respite care. Residents in the interim bed program pay the applicable long-stay program rate based on type of accommodation.

Residents of LTC homes and their families should also become familiar with section 245 of the Long-Term Care Homes Act legislation which outlines "Non-allowable resident charges".

– Overview of Preferred Accommodation Rates in Long-Term Care Homes

A LTC Home may offer basic or preferred accommodation. The latter is either a private or semi-private room with special features. LTC Homes may not use more than 60% of their licensed capacity for preferred accommodation.

It is important to remember that the features of basic and preferred accommodation will vary, depending on when the particular home was built or renovated.

Residents of LTC Homes who choose to stay in a semi-private or private room may be required to pay a higher rate than basic accommodation. All residents admitted to preferred accommodation in a LTC Home are required to sign an agreement which provides details of the co-payment rate they will be required to pay on a daily/monthly basis.

Preferred accommodation rates for residents being admitted to a newer LTC Home bed are higher than the rates for residents staying in preferred accommodation in an older bed. The higher preferred rates for a newer LTC Home bed reflect the higher costs of building and maintaining the home. Residents of LTC Homes planning to transfer to another room in their current LTC Home, or planning to transfer to another LTC Home should be mindful that co-payment rates for a similar accommodation type may be higher than what they currently pay. Community Care Access Centres are able to advise on the rates for accommodations in any LTC homes if you are considering a transfer.

The table below provides an overview of the preferred accommodation rates that apply to residents being admitted to LTC Homes on or after July 1, 2013. An older LTC Home may only charge the lower rates. A newer LTC Home may charge the higher rates if authorized by legislation.

Maximum allowable daily co-payment charges for newer vs older LTC Home beds, effective July 1, 2013 *
Accommodation type Higher Rate Lower Rate
Semi-private $66.14 $64.14
Private $77.64 $74.14

Please note that table shows the maximum rates that LTC Homes can charge. A home may charge less than these rates.

If you are applying for LTC Home admission, the placement coordinator from the local Community Care Access Centre will advise you which rates a LTC Home can charge. If you are already living in a home and have questions about the preferred accommodation rate change, please speak with the staff in your home. If you would like to find out which rates a LTC Home can charge, please check the following list.

Rate Reduction - Government Subsidies for LTC Accommodation Costs

Residents in a long-stay or interim bed with basic accommodation, who cannot afford to pay for the LTC co-payment, may be eligible to have their co-payment amount reduced. This is known as a rate reduction.

You can learn more about the rate reduction system   on this website, or talk to your local Community Care Access Centre
Government Legislation and Quality Inspection

There is important legislation in Ontario that helps ensure Long-Term Care Homes provide a high standard of care.

The Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 (LTCHA) and Ontario Regulation 79/10 (Regulation) came into force on July 1, 2010 and are the single legislative authority for safeguarding resident rights, improving the quality of care and improving the accountability of Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes for the care, treatment and well-being of over 76,000 residents.

The LTCHA sets out the requirements for LTC Home resident rights and protections, services, accountabilities, placement rules, system management and compliance inspection and enforcement. The Regulation provides the details to support the requirements of the LTCHA.

The LTCHA and Regulation were developed to improve the resident experience and quality of life in LTC Homes.

To accompany this new legislation, the MOHLTC created the Long-Term Care Homes Quality Inspection Program (LQIP), which is designed to safeguard residents’ rights, safety and security, improve quality of care and create a culture that is focused on resident outcomes.

LQIP safeguards residents’ well-being by continuously investigating complaints, concerns and critical incidents, and by ensuring that all Homes are inspected at least once per year.  The mandate of the Long-Term Care Homes Quality Inspection Program (LQIP) is to:

  • protect over 76,000 residents in Ontario’s 630 LTC Homes
  • safeguard resident rights, safety, security and quality of life and
  • ensure LTC Homes comply with legislation and regulations,.

At the end of every inspection an MOHLTC inspector prepares an inspection report.  You can read public versions of these inspection reports which are available from:

  • LTC Homes, which are required to post these reports
  • The family council of an LTC Home (if a family council has been established)
  • The ministry website, where inspection reports are published.

All Homes must post and follow a Residents' Bill of Rights. The MOHLTC encourages Homes to get accredited by Accreditation Canada or the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilityties (CARF) by providing a funding incentive to accredited Homes.

A Guide to the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 and Regulation 79/10

As part of the Government’s ongoing commitment to improve the quality of care and quality of life for residents, and our ongoing efforts to promote communication and transparency between the long-term care home sector, the public and the Government, we are pleased to introduce Phase One of “A Guide to the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 and Regulation 79/10” (the Guide).

This Guide provides a general overview of the Act and its Regulation. The Guide does not address all aspects of the Act and its Regulation and is made available for convenient reference only. It should be read in conjunction with the Act and its Regulation and, in the case of any conflict; the provisions of the Act and its Regulation are authoritative. Users should consult their own legal counsel for all purposes of interpretation.

This Guide is designed to align with the Table of Contents of the Act and its Regulation.  This Guide is divided into ten Parts, reflecting the ten Parts of the Act and its Regulation as set out in the Table of Contents:

Document Download

Phase One of the Guide reflects Parts One, Two and Four of the Act and its Regulation.   [PDF]

Phase Two of the Guide will reflect Parts Three, Five, Six, Seven, Eight, Nine and Ten of the Act and its Regulation.

Note: The Guide is provided solely as an on-line reference tool. Users who require hard copies of the Guide are directed to the links above, so that they may print off hard copies for themselves. The Ministry does not provide hard copies of the Guide.

Making a Complaint

Quality care matters. If you want more information, have a concern, or want to register a complaint about a Long-Term Care Home, call this toll-free number:

Long-Term Care ACTION Line 1-866-434-0144
7 days a week, 8:30AM-7:00PM

See the Making a complaint about a LTC Home  section of this website for more information

How to apply

All applications to Long-Term Care Homes are coordinated by your local Community Care Access Centre (CCAC). Once your CCAC has determined that you are eligible, your next step is to choose the Homes you wish to apply to. You may apply to a maximum of five Homes. Your local CCAC will provide you with lists and information about Homes in your area. You can also find a Home in your area by using the Home locator on this site.

Your CCAC can also provide more detailed information about how to apply for and select a Home, and also prepare for a move to a Home.

See the Finding a Provider section for tips on selecting a provider and the Links and Resources section for more information.

Related links
For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Services et soins à domicile, dans la collectivité et en établissement

Foyers de soins de longue durée

Les foyers de soins de longue durée sont des établissements où les personnes âgées peuvent vivre et recevoir des services de soutien. Ils représentent souvent un choix approprié pour les personnes âgées qui ont besoin d’aide pour vaquer à leurs activités quotidiennes, d’un accès à des soins infirmiers 24 heures sur 24 ou de la surveillance offerte par un milieu encadré.

De manière générale, les foyers de soins de longue durée offrent un degré plus élevé de soins d'hygiène personnelle et de soutien que celui offert par une maison de retraite ou un logement offrant des services de soutien.

Les foyers de soins de longue durée sont titulaires d'un permis du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée ou sont approuvés par le ministère.

Tous les foyers de soins de longunicipaux pour personnes âgées et de foyers de bienfaisance) sont régis par la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée.Les exigences de la Loi font en sorte que les résidents de ces foyers reçoivent des soins axés sur le patient qui sont sûrs, uniformes et de grande qualité, et ce, dans un milieu où les résidents se sentent chez eux, sont traités avec respect et reçoivee durée de l’Ontario (y compris ceux anciennement connus sous les noms de maisons de soins infirmiers, de foyers munt tout le soutien et les services dont ils ont besoin pour assurer leur santé et leur bien-être.


Hébergement

Les foyers de soins de longue durée offrent différents types de chambres. Les résidents paient des frais fondés sur le type d’hébergement : « hébergement avec services privilégiés » qui est une chambre privée ou à deux lits comportant des caractéristiques spéciales, et « hébergement avec services de base » ou « normal ».

Il convient de souligner que les caractéristiques d'un hébergement avec services de base ou avec services privilégiés varient en fonction de l’époque à laquelle l’établissement a été construit ou rénové.

Les foyers de soins de longue durée ont tous une salle à manger et des salles de séjour communes. Certains ont aussi un salon, une boutique de cadeaux, un salon de coiffure, une chapelle, un jardin, etc.

Services

Tous les foyers de soins de longue durée offrent une surveillance permanente et l'accès à des soins infirmiers 24 heures sur 24.

Les autres éléments automatiquement offerts à tous les résidents sont :

  • le mobilier (p. ex., un lit et une chaise), les repas (y compris pour les régimes alimentaires spéciaux), la literie et la blanchisserie, les articles d'hygiène personnelle, les fournitures médicales ou cliniques et les appareils ou accessoires fonctionnels courants (p. ex., un déambulateur ou un fauteuil roulant pour un usage occasionnel), les services d'entretien ménager, les services de pastorale, des activités sociales et récréatives, l'administration des médicaments et une assistance pour les activités de la vie quotidienne;
  • l'accès 24 heures sur 24 à des services de soins infirmiers et de soins personnels, de même qu'à un médecin et à d'autres professionnels de la santé;

Il est habituellement possible d’avoir des services facultatifs moyennant des frais, comme les services de coiffure, la câblodistribution, le téléphone et le transport.

Les foyers doivent préparer pour chaque résident un « plan de soins » qui indiquent les soins nécessaires et le niveau de services offert. Ils doivent passer ce programme en revue au moins une fois par trimestre et l’adapter quand les besoins du résident changent.

Coûts

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) subventionne les services des foyers de soins de longue durée (SLD). Le montant versé par les résidents pour l'hébergement est appelé « quote-part ». Cette quote-part représente la contribution des résidents des foyers de SLD aux coûts de leur hébergement et de leurs repas.

Les foyers de SLD proposent trois types de programmes de soins :

  1. Soins de longue durée
    • Il s'agit d'un hébergement permanent d'une durée indéterminée.
  2. Soins de relève
    • Il s'agit d'un séjour à court terme pour les personnes dont l'aidant a besoin d'être déchargé temporairement de ses tâches ou pour les personnes ayant besoin de soins temporaires.
    • Le maximum de jours qu'une personne peut demeurer dans un foyer de SLD pendant une période de relève est de 60 jours consécutifs ou 90 jours pendant une année civile.
    • Le ministère établit une quote-part fixe pour les soins de relève à court terme. (Voir tableau ci-dessous.)
    • Les patients peuvent être admis à ce programme directement depuis leur foyer communautaire ou l'hôpital.
  3. Soins de convalescence
    • Il s'agit d'un séjour à court terme pour les personnes qui ont besoin de retrouver leur force, leur endurance et leur capacité fonctionnelle.
    • Le maximum de jours qu'une personne peut demeurer dans un foyer de SLD pour des soins de convalescence est de 90 jours pendant une année civile.
    • Les patients peuvent être admis à ce programme directement depuis leur foyer communautaire ou l'hôpital.
    • Les patients qui sont admis pour des soins de convalescence ne sont pas tenus de verser une quote-part. Le but est de les aider à réintégrer la collectivité avec ou sans soutien.

Le MSSLD fixe les quotes-parts des résidents. Le tableau ci-après présente les quotes-parts en vigueur au 1er juillet 2013. Le montant change de temps à autre (habituellement chaque année). Pour connaître les montants en vigueur, renseignez-vous auprès du personnel de votre centre d'accès aux soins communautaires.

Le bulletin suivant offre des détails supplémentaires importants sur les changements qui se produiront le 1er juillet 2013 et qui toucheront les taux de quote-part s'appliquant à l'hébergement en chambre de base ou en chambre avec services privilégiés :

Quote-part maximale admissible Type d'hébergement Quote-part quotidienne Quote-part mensuelle
Séjour de longue durée
Chambre de base ou standard Divers types (suivant la date à laquelle l'établissement a été construit ou rénové) 56,14 $ 1 707,59 $
Hébergement avec services privilégiés Chambre à deux lits 66,14 $ (chambre de base plus un maximum de 10 $) 2 011,76 $
Hébergement avec services privilégiés Chambre individuelle 77,64 $ (chambre de base plus un maximum de 21,50 $) 2 361,55 $
Séjour de courte durée (programme de relève)
36,34 $ s.o.

Remarques : Les services facultatifs (p. ex., la câblodistribution ou des services de coiffure) sont disponibles moyennant des frais supplémentaires. Il n'y a pas de frais supplémentaires pour l'hébergement avec services privilégiés pour les séjours de courte durée dans les programmes de soins de relève. Les personnes qui sont dans le programme des lits provisoires paient le taux du séjour de longue durée approprié au type d'hébergement.

Nous conseillons également aux résidents des foyers de SLD et aux membres de leur famille de se familiariser avec l'article 245 du Règlement de l'Ontario 79/10 pris en application de la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée, qui précise les « frais qu'il est interdit d'exiger des résidents ».
– Vue d'ensemble des taux d'hébergement avec services privilégiés dans les foyers de soins de longue durée

Un foyer de SLD peut offrir un hébergement avec services de base ou avec services privilégiés. L'hébergement avec services privilégiés s'entend de l'hébergement dans une chambre individuelle ou dans une chambre à deux lits dotée de caractéristiques spéciales. Les foyers de SLD doivent veiller à ce que pas plus de 60 pour cent de leur capacité en lits autorisés soit désignée comme hébergement avec services privilégiés.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que les caractéristiques de l'hébergement avec services de base et de l'hébergement avec services privilégiés peuvent varier suivant la date à laquelle l'établissement concerné a été construit ou rénové.

Les résidents des foyers de SLD qui choisissent un hébergement dans une chambre à deux lits ou dans une chambre individuelle peuvent devoir s'acquitter d'une quote-part plus élevée que pour l'hébergement avec services de base. Tous les résidents qui sont admis dans le cadre d'un hébergement avec services privilégiés sont tenus de signer une entente fournissant des détails sur le montant de la quote-part qu'ils devront verser quotidiennement/mensuellement.

Les frais d'hébergement avec services privilégiés des résidents qui occupent un lit de SLD plus récent sont plus élevés que les frais d'hébergement avec services privilégiés des résidents qui occupent un lit moins récent. Les frais plus élevés associés à un lit de SLD plus récent reflètent les coûts plus élevés de la construction et de l'entretien de l'établissement. Les résidents des foyers de SLD qui envisagent un transfert dans une autre chambre au sein de leur foyer de SLD actuel, ou qui envisagent un transfert au sein d'un autre foyer de SLD, doivent garder à l'esprit que les quotes-parts correspondant à un type d'hébergement similaire peuvent être plus élevées que celles qu'ils paient actuellement. Si vous envisagez un transfert, les centres d'accès aux soins communautaires pourront vous informer des frais d'hébergement pratiqués par tout foyer de SLD.

Le tableau ci-dessous donne un aperçu des différents frais d'hébergement qui s'appliquent aux résidents qui sont admis dans un foyer de SLD le 1er juillet 2013 ou après cette date. Il est possible qu'un foyer de SLD moins récent applique uniquement les taux les plus bas. Un foyer de SLD plus récent peut appliquer les taux les plus élevés si la loi l'y autorise.

Quote-part maximale admissible quotidienne correspondant à un lit situé dans un foyer de SLD plus récent, contre celle correspondant à un lit situé dans un foyer de SLD moins récent, à compter du 1er juillet 2013 *
Type d'hébergement Taux le plus élevé Taux le moins élevé
Chambre à deux lits 66,14 $ 64,14 $
Chambre individuelle 77,64 $ 74,14 $

* Remarque : Ce tableau présente les taux maximums qui peuvent être appliqués par les foyers de SLD. Il est possible que certains foyers appliquent des taux moins élevés.

Si vous faites une demande en vue d'un placement en foyer de SLD, la coordonnatrice ou le coordonnateur des placements de votre centre d'accès aux soins communautaires vous indiquera les frais susceptibles d'être pratiqués par un foyer de SLD. Si vous résidez déjà dans un foyer et que vous avez des questions sur les modifications des frais relatifs à l'hébergement avec services privilégiés, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de votre établissement. Si vous désirez connaître les frais susceptibles d'être pratiqués par un foyer de SLD, veuillez consulter la liste suivante.

Réduction du tarif – Subventions gouvernementales pour l’hébergement dans des foyers de soins de longue durée

Les résidents qui occupent un lit de soins de longue durée ou temporaire dans une chambre de base et qui ne peuvent pas verser leur quote-part peuvent être admissibles à une « réduction du tarif ».

Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur le système de réduction du tarif sur ce site Web ou en vous adressant à votre centre d’accès aux soins communautaires

Lois et inspections de la qualité

Des lois importantes aident à faire en sorte que les foyers de soins de longue durée de l’Ontario fournissent des soins répondant à des normes élevées.

La Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée (LFSLD) et le Règlement de l’Ontario 79/10 (le règlement) sont entrés en vigueur le 1er juillet 2010 et constituent la seule autorité législative concernant la protection des droits des résidents, l’amélioration de la qualité des soins et l’amélioration de la reddition de comptes des foyers de soins de longue durée relativement aux soins, au traitement et au bien-être de plus de 76 000 résidents.

La LFSLD établit les droits et protections des résidents, les services, les responsabilités, les règles de placement, l’inspection de la gestion et de la conformité et l’application des lois. Le règlement apporte des détails sur les exigences de la LFSLD.

La LFSLD et le règlement ont été établis afin d’améliorer l'expérience et la qualité de vie des résidents des foyers de soins de longue durée.

Pour accompagner cette nouvelle loi, le MSSLD a créé le Programme d’inspection de la qualité des foyers de soins de longue durée (PIQFSLD), conçu pour protéger les droits et la sécurité des résidents, améliorer la qualité des soins et créer une culture axée sur les résultats pour les résidents.

Le PIQFSLD protège le bien-être des résidents en effectuant en permanence des inspections à la suite de plaintes, de préoccupations et d’incidents graves , et en veillant à ce que tous les foyers soient inspectés au moins une fois par an. Le Programme d’inspection de la qualité des foyers de soins de longue durée a pour but de :

  • protéger les plus de 76 000 résidents des 630 foyers de soins de longue durée de l’Ontario;
  • protéger les droits, la sécurité et la qualité de vie des résidents;
  • veiller à ce que les foyers de soins de longue durée se conforment aux lois et règlements.

À la fin de chaque inspection, un inspecteur du MSSLD prépare un rapport. Vous pouvez lire les versions publiques de ces rapports d’inspection qui se trouvent :

  • dans les foyers de soins de longue durée, qui sont obligés de les afficher;
  • au conseil des familles d’un foyer de soins de longue durée (si un tel conseil a été établi)
  • sur le site Web du Ministère, dans la section des rapports d’inspection.

Tous les foyers doivent afficher et appliquer une déclaration des droits des résidents. Le MSSLD encourage les foyers à se faire agréer par Agrément Canada ou la Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) en offrant un incitatif financier aux foyers agréés.

Guide sur la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée et le Règlement 79/10

Dans le cadre de l’engagement continu du gouvernement de l’Ontario à améliorer la qualité des soins et  la qualité de vie des habitants de la province, ainsi que des initiatives que nous poursuivons afin de promouvoir la transparence et la communication entre le secteur des foyers de soins de longue durée, le public et le gouvernement, nous avons le plaisir de présenter le tome I du Guide sur la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée et le Règlement 79/10” (le guide).

Ce guide donne un aperçu général de la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée (la Loi) et de son Règlement, et n’en aborde pas tous les aspects. Rédigé seulement à des fins pratiques, le guide s’utilise en même temps que la Loi et son Règlement. En cas de divergence, les dispositions de la Loi et du Règlement prévaudront. Il est conseillé aux utilisateurs de consulter leur conseiller juridique pour les questions d’interprétation.

Le guide suit la table des matières de la Loi et du Règlement. Il se compose de 10 parties, qui correspondent aux différentes parties de la Loi et du Règlement présentées dans la table des matières.

TÉlÉchargement des documents

Le tome I du guide porte sur les parties I, II et IV de la Loi et de son Règlement. [PDF]

Le tome II du guide portera sur les parties III, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX et X de la Loi et de son Règlement.

Nota : Le guide est fourni uniquement à titre de document de référence. Il est possible de le télécharger et de l’imprimer en cliquant sur les liens ci-dessus. Le ministère ne fournira pas de version imprimée.

Marche à suivre pour porter plainte

La qualité des soins est importante. Si vous souhaitez obtenir d'autres renseignements ou si vous voulez exprimer vos préoccupations ou déposer une plainte concernant un établissement de soins de longue durée, appelez le numéro sans frais suivant :

Ligne ACTION des Soins de longue durée : 1 866 434-0144
Tous les jours, de 8 h 30 à 19 h

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section intitulée Déposer une plainte contre un foyer de soins de longue durée.

Marche à suivre pour demander l'admission dans un établissement

Les demandes d'admission dans un établissement de soins de longue durée sont toutes coordonnées par les centres d'accès aux soins communautaires (CASC). Quand votre CASC a déterminé que vous êtes admissible, vous devez choisir les foyers qui vous intéressent. Vous pouvez faire une demande d'admission à cinq foyers au maximum. Votre CASC pourra vous fournir les coordonnées des foyers proches de chez vous et d'autres renseignements s'y rapportant. Vous pouvez aussi vous renseigner sur les foyers de votre région en utilisant le localisateur de foyers de soins de longue durée accessible à partir de ce site.

Votre CASC peut aussi vous fournir des renseignements détaillés sur la façon de choisir un établissement, de présenter une demande d'admission et de préparer votre emménagement dans un établissement.

Veuillez consulter la section Choix d'un fournisseur pour obtenir des conseils sur la sélection d’un fournisseur et la section Liens et ressources pour obtenir d’autres renseignements.

Liens connexes
Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter notre Salle de presse.