2018 Minister's Medal Winners

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is proud to showcase the winners of the 2018 Minister’s Medal in the Team, Individual, and Patient, Family and Caregiver categories:

Team Winner: Putting Patients at the Heart (PPATH): A Seamless Journey for Cardiac Surgery Patients - Mississauga Halton LHIN

  • PPATH is a patient co-designed initiative with Trillium Health Partners and Saint Elizabeth Health that redesigned the journey for cardiac surgery patients from hospital to home.
  • This  bundled care program uses integrated funding and a cross-sectoral team approach to deliver efficient, high-quality care across traditional ‘silos’ and better meet the needs of patients.
  • PPATH is now the standard of care at this regional cardiac surgical centre, which has the second highest cardiac volumes in Ontario.
  • PPATH enrolled 1,889 patients and realized improvements in quality, access, and sustainability.

Team Winner: Putting Patients at the Heart (PPATH): A Seamless Journey for Cardiac Surgery Patients - Mississauga Halton LHIN

Individual Winner: Carmen Blais, Matawa Health Cooperative, North West LHIN

  • Carmen Blais, who has worked for over 30 years in health care, has consistently demonstrated her genuine passion and dedication to using innovation and collaboration to address significant health disparities and improve health outcomes for the North West LHIN’s Indigenous people and communities.
  • Currently, Carmen is the Community Engagement Lead with the Matawa Tribal Council and works to identify gaps and challenges in accessing health services.
  • Carmen has collaborated and fostered strong partnerships with patients, families, community organizations, First Nations communities, and government ministries.
  • Carmen created a traditional healing garden at the hospital in response to engagement with Indigenous communities and spearheaded an Indigenous Career experience program to provide Indigenous students with a better understanding of career paths in health care.

Individual Winner: Carmen Blais, Matawa Health Cooperative, North West LHIN

Patient, Family and Caregiver Winner: Alana Smith, Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers, Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN

  • Alana Smith has been a volunteer at Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers, an organization that supports patients who have palliative care needs, for the past 18 years.
  • Alana created the Legacy program at Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers in 2010. The program empowers patients and families to create “legacy booklets” that record a patient’s memories and photos.
  • Alana has helped patients and families compile 18 legacy booklets and continues to lead the program, integrating the program throughout the organization, and supports and trains all of its volunteers.
Patient, Family and Caregiver Winner: Alana Smith, Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers, Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN


2018 Minister’s Medal Honour Roll Recipients

The following applications demonstrated outstanding performance across the Medal criteria. These applications made it to the final stages of the review process and are recognized as honour roll recipients:

Team Honour Roll:

Individual Honour Roll:

Patient, Family and Caregiver Honour Roll:


Winners

Winner of Team Award:

Putting Patients at the Heart (PPATH): A Seamless Journey for Cardiac Surgery Patients - Mississauga Halton LHIN

The aim of the Putting Patients at the Heart (PPATH) program is to redesign the journey for cardiac surgery patients from hospital to home.

Trillium Health Partners and SE Health, formerly Saint Elizabeth Health Care, partnered with patients and families to recreate the patient journey by seamlessly coordinating services around the needs of the patient through standardized post-operative care pathways, providing one team, a 24/7 telephone line, community care, and a shared health record.

The initiative has worked to eliminate silos of care and focus on what matters most to patients and has resulted in better continuity of care and increased patient satisfaction, while also lowering costs.

PPATH is now the standard of care at this regional cardiac surgical centre which has the second highest cardiac volumes in Ontario.

The initiative is the result of meaningful patient engagement through patient co-design activities, courageous leadership, and strong team work across the hospital and community sectors, from senior executives to frontline staff, all working collaboratively to build a trusted partnership. For example, 96% of the patients in the program have said it helped them feel confident about their ability to care for their own health.

PPATH has enrolled 1,889 patients and realized improvements in quality, access, and sustainability.

Back to top


Winner of the Individual Champion Award:

Carmen Blais - North West LHIN

Carmen Blais is currently a Community Engagement Lead, Health Co-op with the Matawa Tribal Council. She works with Chiefs, elders, and youth to facilitate engagement sessions in the nine Matawa communities to discuss gaps and challenges in accessing health services.

Carmen has over 30 years’ experience working in health care, and has consistently demonstrated her genuine passion and dedication to using innovation and collaboration to address significant health disparities and improve health outcomes for Indigenous people and communities in the North West LHIN.

As an Indigenous Engagement Lead and Patient Advocate at the Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, Carmen expanded the hospital’s Indigenous Advisory Committee to include additional Indigenous members of the community.

As an Aboriginal Health Promotion Planner, Carmen worked with the First Nation communities in Northwestern Ontario to develop a work plan to provide public education, outreach, and information programs to increase awareness of cancer risk factors and the benefits of cancer screening. Carmen has also worked with the Ontario Breast Screening Program and Cancer Care Ontario to provide Breast Screening services for the Treaty #9 and Robinson Superior Communities.

Back to top


Winner of Patient, Family, Caregiver Award:

Alana Smith - Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN

Alana Smith has been a volunteer for the past 18 years at Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers, an organization that supports patients who have palliative care needs. Alana started out as a volunteer visiting with patients who are life limiting or have palliative care needs. Since then, she has spearheaded a program that has had a lasting impact on the organization and for patients and families.

Alana championed the organization’s Legacy Program, which aims to capture a dying person’s legacy through the creation of a legacy book that families can cherish and remember for years to come. This program has had a lasting impact and Alana continues to lead and grow the program, from training new volunteers and making sure the program continues to be a rewarding experience for everyone involved, to finding new ways to integrate the program throughout the organization.

Back to top


Honour Roll Recipients

Team Category:

Brantford Mental Health Crisis Support System- Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN

The Brantford Mental Health Crisis Support System is a collaborative initiative through which the Brantford Police Service, St. Leonard’s Community Services, and HealthIM have addressed the rising number of mental health crisis situations encountered by the police.

The project, initiated in 2017, enables the Brantford community to better leverage services in the community to support vulnerable persons in their home environments. By coordinating services of the Brantford Police Service and St. Leonard’s Community Services, persons in need of support are identified before a crisis situation arises and they are connected to support services in the community that can reduce the likelihood of future crisis situations and interactions with the police.

The project utilizes HealthIM’s technology, the interRAI Brief Mental Health Screener, to support front-line officers’ decision-making on referring persons in crisis to St. Leonard’s Community Services, thereby diverting non-emergent cases from the hospital.

Results achieved include reducing the rate of police apprehensions of persons with a serious mental disorder to 33%, from a prior rate of 90%. The average time officers spent waiting with an apprehended individual at the hospital has also decreased from 4h 22m (2015) to 1h 53 min (2017/18).

Back to top


Trinity Village – DOCit -Waterloo Wellington LHIN

Trinity Village, a long-term care facility, and VitalHub, a health care technology company, formed a partnership to develop DOCit – a mobile application used by front-line workers to improve communication, scheduling, documentation, reporting practices, and quality of care.

The innovative software system features unique resident profiles and allows the user to report observations and utilize clinical assessment tools to monitor residents who are exhibiting unusual or concerning behaviours.

The purpose of DOCit is to address challenges in assessing residents with multiple issues, provide real-time accountability, and improve standardization, by using data on patterns of care to improve how staff workload is distributed and funding allocations are made.

The DOCit team achieved success in the form of improved user experience (comparing manual forms completion to the DOCit digital application), time savings, and enhanced data accuracy.

Back to top


Improving Transitions in Care: Northland Pointe LTHC and Niagara Health’s Emergency Departments - Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN

The Improving Transitions in Care initiative is a project developed by Northland Pointe Long-Term Care Home with the goal of strengthening resident-centred care during transfers between long-term care homes and hospital emergency departments in the Niagara region.

The main purpose of the project was to develop an innovative solution to ensure seamless transitions in care by building relationships based on shared objectives among residents and providers.

The project improves the quality of the resident-care experience while also achieving operational efficiency without incurring additional costs. The project also has a strong emphasis on building relationships between senior and frontline staff within two different care settings.

Results achieved to date include a steady decline in the number of resident transfers from Northland Pointe to the Emergency Department and a decline in the number of resident transfers from the Emergency Department to Northland Pointe in the same day. The project has also eliminated the number of residents who had re-occurring transfers from the Emergency Department after being sent home from the Emergency Department within a 24hr period.

Back to top


Individual Champion

Debra Walko - Toronto Central LHIN

Debra Walko is the Senior Director of Complex Care and Seniors Services at LOFT Community Services, and has over 30 years’ experience working in the health care system.

In her current role, Debra has led 10 new significant programs serving vulnerable seniors previously designated as Alternative Level of Care.

Debra designed enhanced assisted living hubs offering housing and other supports for marginalized seniors and, in partnership with other agencies, helped to establish the Seniors Crisis Service which provides seniors with crisis supports in their home.

Debra has also led the development and implementation of the Enhanced Mobile Support program, a home-based case-management service officering 24/7 personal support for clients facing mental health and addiction challenges. The program currently assists 51 clients annually.

Debra has demonstrated a limitless ability to connect, transform and act within her community.

Back to top


Brian Dunne - South West LHIN

Brian Dunne has led the growth and is now the President and Chief Executive Officer of Participation House Support Services, an organization that supports close to 200 individuals with a wide range of complex support needs.

Through Brian’s leadership, the Participation House Support Services has partnered with four hospitals and with home and community care providers to provide residential supports to individuals who can be safely discharged from hospital with the right supports. The Participation House Support Services now provides 24/7 supports to medically fragile individuals in community-based homes.

Throughout his life and career, Brian has responded to the need for people with various disabilities to be welcomes and supported in community life as valued citizens.

Back to top


Patient, Family and Caregiver Category:

Randy Filinski - Central East LHIN

Randy Filinski is a long-time resident of Pickering Ontario who, since retiring from IBM in 2003, has taken a keen interest in health care, with a specific focus on seniors’ health care from a consumer and caregiver point of view.

Randy is a member of the Ontario Patient/Caregiver Advisory Table, advising the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, from the patient/consumer perspective on policy efforts to improve the delivery of home and community care.  In 2016 Randy was invited to join the Central East LHIN’s Patient and Family Advisory Committee and was selected as one of the committee’s co-chairs in early 2017.

As a community representative on the Rouge Valley Ajax Hospital’s End of Life Care initiative, through his leadership role in facilitating community forums, Randy was instrumental in helping the hospital apply input from patients and caregivers.

Randy has demonstrated a sustained commitment and perseverance to improving outcomes and experiences for patients, families, and caregivers at an individual and system level.

Back to top

For More Information

For questions related to the Minister's Medal, please contact us at ministersmedal@ontario.ca.

Lauréats de la Médaille ministérielle de 2018

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée est fier de présenter les lauréats de la Médaille ministérielle de 2017 dans les catégories Équipe, Personne exceptionnelle, et Patient, famille et soignant :

Équipe exceptionnelle : Les patients au cœur du système : un parcours unifié pour les patients en chirurgie cardiaque

  • Les patients au cœur du système constituent une initiative axée sur les patients, conçue conjointement par Trillium Health Partners et Saint Elizabeth Health, qui vise à remodeler le parcours des patients en chirurgie cardiaque de l’hôpital à la maison.
  • Ce programme de soins regroupés utilise du financement intégré et une approche d’équipe intersectorielle afin d’assurer des soins efficaces et de grande qualité à l’échelle des « cloisons » traditionnelles et de mieux répondre aux besoins des patients.
  • L’initiative Les patients au cœur du système est maintenant la norme en matière de soins de santé dans ce centre régional de chirurgie cardiaque, qui se situe au deuxième rang des centres de chirurgies cardiaques en importance de l’Ontario.
  • L’initiative Les patients au cœur du système a été suivie par 1 889 patients et a permis d’améliorer la qualité, l’accès et la durabilité des soins offerts.

Équipe exceptionnelle : Les patients au cœur du système : un parcours unifié pour les patients en chirurgie cardiaque

Personne exceptionnelle : Carmen Blais

  • Carmen Blais, qui travaille depuis plus de 30 ans dans le domaine de la santé, fait toujours preuve d’un dévouement et d’une passion authentique pour son travail en utilisant des méthodes novatrices et de collaboration afin de corriger d’importantes inégalités en matière de soins et d’améliorer les services de santé offerts aux peuples et aux communautés autochtones du RLISS du Nord-Ouest.
  • Mme Blais est actuellement responsable de la participation communautaire au sein du Matawa Tribal Council et son travail vise à cerner les lacunes et les défis qui nuisent à l’accès aux services de santé.
  • En collaborant avec les patients, les familles et les organismes communautaires, les communautés des Premières Nations et les ministères gouvernementaux, Mme Blais favorise l’établissement de partenariats solides avec eux.
  • Mme Blais a créé un jardin de guérison traditionnel à l’hôpital dans le but d’encourager la participation des communautés autochtones. Elle a dirigé un programme sur l’expérience professionnelle pour Autochtones (Indigenous Career Experience program) visant à offrir aux étudiants autochtones une meilleure compréhension des choix de carrière dans le domaine de la santé.

Personne exceptionnelle : Carmen Blais

Patients, familles et soignants exceptionnels : Alana Smith

  • Alana Smith est, depuis les 18 dernières années, bénévole au Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers, un organisme qui appuie les patients ayant des besoins en soins palliatifs.
  • En 2010, Mme Smith a créé le programme Legacy au Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers. Ce programme habilite les patients et leurs familles à créer des livrets-souvenirs (Legacy booklets) visant à conserver les mémoires et les photos des patients.
  • Mme Smith a aidé des patients et des familles à créer 18 livrets-souvenirs et continue à diriger le programme, en intégrant ce dernier à l’échelle de l’organisme, de même qu’à soutenir et à former tous les bénévoles.

Patients, familles et soignants exceptionnels : Alana Smith

Lauréats du tableau d'honneur 2018 de la médaille ministérielle

Les candidats suivants ont démontré des réalisations exceptionnelles dans les différentes catégories de médailles. Ils ont atteint les étapes finales du processus d'examen et sont considérés comme des finalistes du tableau d'honneur :

Tableau d’honneur dans la catégorie Équipe :

Catégorie Personne exceptionnelle :

Catégorie Patients, familles et soignants exceptionnels :


Lauréats

Lauréat de la catégorie Équipe exceptionnelle :

Les patients au cœur du système : un parcours unifié pour les patients en chirurgie cardiaque – RLISS de Mississauga Halton

Le programme Les patients au cœur du système vise à remodeler le parcours des patients en chirurgie cardiaque de l’hôpital à la maison.

Trillium Health Partners et SE Health, appelé auparavant Saint Elizabeth Health Care, ont formé un partenariat avec les patients et les familles en vue de recréer le parcours des patients en coordonnant les services en douceur selon les besoins du patient, en suivant des cheminements de soins postopératoires normalisés, et en assurant une équipe de soins, un service téléphonique ouvert 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, et le partage des dossiers médicaux.

Cette initiative vise à éliminer les cloisons des services de soins et à miser sur ce qui compte le plus pour les patients. Elle a donné de meilleurs résultats en matière de continuité de soins et a permis d’améliorer la satisfaction des patients, tout en réduisant les coûts.

L’initiative Les patients au cœur du système fait maintenant partie des normes de soins dans ce centre régional de chirurgie cardiaque, qui se situe au deuxième rang des centres de chirurgies cardiaques en importance de l’Ontario.

Cette initiative est le fruit d’un important engagement auprès des patients au moyen d’activités conçues conjointement avec eux, d’un leadership courageux et d’un solide travail d’équipe à l’échelle de l’hôpital et des secteurs communautaires, des cadres principaux au personnel de première ligne, travaillant tous en collaboration afin d’établir un partenariat de confiance. Par exemple, 96 % des patients du programme ont déclaré que le programme les avait aidés à croire en leur capacité à prendre soin de leur propre santé.

L’initiative Les patients au cœur du système a été suivie par 1 889 patients et a permis d’améliorer la qualité, l’accès et la durabilité des soins offerts.

Haut de page


Lauréat dans la catégorie Personne exceptionnelle :

Carmen Blais - RLISS du Nord-Ouest

Carmen Blais est actuellement responsable de la participation communautaire à la Health Co-op du Matawa Tribal Council. Elle travaille avec des chefs, des aînés et des jeunes afin de faciliter les séances d’engagement dans les neuf communautés de Matawa en discutant des lacunes et des défis qui nuisent à l’accès aux services de santé.

Mme Blais possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience de travail dans le domaine des soins de la santé et elle est encore aujourd’hui animée d’une passion authentique pour son travail et fait toujours preuve d’un dévouement réel en utilisant des méthodes novatrices et de collaboration en vue de corriger d’importantes inégalités en matière de soins et d’améliorer les services de santé offerts aux peuples et aux communautés autochtones du RLISS du Nord-Ouest.

À titre de responsable de la participation autochtone et d’intervenante en faveur des patients au Centre régional des sciences de la santé de Thunder Bay, Mme Blais a élargi le Comité consultatif autochtone de l’hôpital afin d’y inclure d’autres membres autochtones de la communauté.

En tant que planificatrice de la promotion de la santé chez les Autochtones, Mme Blais a travaillé avec des communautés des Premières Nations du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario en vue d’élaborer un plan de travail visant à solliciter l’attention du public, à le renseigner et à offrir des programmes d’information afin de sensibiliser davantage la population aux facteurs de risque et aux avantages des méthodes de dépistage du cancer. Mme Blais a également travaillé dans le cadre du Programme ontarien de dépistage du cancer du sein et d’Action Cancer Ontario afin d’offrir des services de dépistage du cancer du sein dans les communautés du Treaty #9 et de Robinson Superior.

Haut de page


Lauréat de la catégorie Patients, familles et soignants exceptionnels :

Alana Smith - RLISS de Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant

Depuis les 18 dernières années, Alana Smith est bénévole au Rose Cottage Visiting Volunteers, un organisme qui appuie les patients ayant des besoins en soins palliatifs. Au tout début, Mme Smith était bénévole aux visites pour les patients en fin de vie ou qui avaient des besoins en soins palliatifs. Depuis, elle a dirigé un programme ayant des effets positifs durables sur l’organisme et pour les patients et leurs familles.

Mme Smith a créé le Legacy Program de l’organisme, qui vise à saisir les mémoires de la personne en fin de vie en créant un livret-souvenir que la famille peut garder à la mémoire de la personne pour des années à venir. Ce programme a d’importants effets positifs durables et Mme Smith continue à diriger et à élargir le programme, en formant de nouveaux bénévoles et en veillant à ce que le programme soit toujours une expérience positive pour toutes les personnes qui y participent. Elle est continuellement à la recherche de nouvelles façons d’intégrer le programme dans toutes les sphères de l’organisme.

Haut de page


Lauréats du tableau d’honneur

Catégorie Équipe exceptionnelle :

Brantford Mental Health Crisis Support System - RLISS de Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant

Le Brantford Mental Health Crisis Support System est une initiative de collaboration au moyen de laquelle le Service de police de Brantford, les St. Leonard’s Community Services (Services communautaires St. Leonard) et HealthIM traitent le nombre croissant de situations de crises en santé mentale qui sont gérées par le service de police.

Ce projet, lancé en 2017, permet à la communauté de Brantford de profiter davantage des services offerts dans la communauté pour soutenir les personnes vulnérables à leur domicile. En coordonnant les services de la police de Brantford et des Services communautaires St. Leonard, on peut déterminer les personnes qui ont besoin de soutien avant qu’une situation de crise ne survienne et on peut les aiguiller vers des services de soutien dans la communauté afin de réduire les probabilités qu’une prochaine situation de crise survienne et qu’il soit nécessaire pour la police d’intervenir.

Le projet utilise la technologie de HealthIM, le Bref outil de dépistage en santé mentale (BDSM) interRAI, pour appuyer la prise de décisions des agents de première ligne en vue d’aiguiller ou non des personnes en crise vers les Services communautaires St. Leonard, réorientant ainsi les cas non urgents des hôpitaux.

Parmi les résultats atteints, on note une réduction de 90 % à 33 % du nombre d’arrestations par la police de personnes ayant des troubles mentaux graves. La moyenne de temps d’attente à l’hôpital des agents ayant arrêté une personne a également chuté de 4 h 22 min en 2015 à 1 h 53 min en 2017-2018.

Haut de page


Trinity Village – DOCit - RLISS de Waterloo Wellington

Trinity Village, un établissement de soins de longue durée, et VitalHub, une entreprise de technologies en soins de santé, ont formé un partenariat afin d’élaborer DOCit, une application mobile utilisée par des employés de première ligne en vue d’améliorer la communication, l’établissement des horaires, la consignation de renseignements, les pratiques de présentation de rapports et la qualité des soins.

Ce système logiciel novateur comprend les profils uniques des résidents et permet aux utilisateurs de consigner leurs observations et d’utiliser des outils d’évaluation cliniques pour surveiller les résidents qui présentent des comportements inhabituels ou préoccupants.

L’application DOCit vise à surmonter les défis liés à l’évaluation des résidents ayant différents enjeux, à assurer une responsabilisation en temps réel et à améliorer la normalisation en utilisant les données sur les modèles de soins pour améliorer la façon d’attribuer les charges de travail aux employés et la manière de distribuer les fonds.

L’équipe de l’application DOCit a réussi à améliorer l’expérience des utilisateurs (en comparant le remplissage manuel des formulaires à l’application numérique DOCit), tout en leur permettant d’économiser du temps et d’améliorer l’exactitude des données.

Haut de page


Améliorer les transitions en matière de soins : Foyer de soins de longue durée Northland Pointe et Niagara Health’s Emergency Departments - RLISS de Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant

L’initiative Améliorer les transitions en matière de soins est un projet conçu par le Foyer de soins de longue durée Northland Pointe dans le but de renforcer les soins axés sur le résident lors de son transfert du foyer de soins de longue durée vers le service d’urgence d’un hôpital dans la région du Niagara.

Ce projet visait principalement à mettre au point une solution novatrice pour s’assurer que les transitions se font en douceur en tissant des liens fondés sur des objectifs communs auprès des résidents et des fournisseurs de soins de santé.

Le projet améliore la qualité de l’expérience des soins du résident tout en assurant une efficacité opérationnelle sans ajouter d’autres frais supplémentaires. Dans le cadre de ce projet, l’accent est mis sur l’établissement de liens solides entre les cadres et le personnel de première ligne dans deux milieux de soins différents.

Parmi les résultats atteints jusqu’à présent, on note une baisse régulière du nombre de résidents transférés de Northland Pointe au service d’urgence et une baisse du nombre de transferts de résidents du service d’urgence à Northland Pointe dans la même journée. Le projet a également permis d’éliminer le nombre de résidents qui étaient transférés de nouveau au service d’urgence dans les 24 heures suivant leur retour au foyer après une première hospitalisation.

Haut de page


Catégorie Personne exceptionnelle :

Debra Walko - RLISS du Centre-Toronto

Debra Walko est directrice principale des soins complexes et des services aux aînés au LOFT Community Services et possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience de travail dans le système des soins de santé.

Dans ses fonctions actuelles, Mme Walko a dirigé dix nouveaux programmes d’importance au service des aînés vulnérables qui étaient précédemment désignés pour d’autres niveaux de soins (ANS).

Mme Walko a conçu des carrefours améliorés à services de soutien offrant du logement et d’autres services de soutien pour les aînés marginalisés et, en partenariat avec d’autres organismes, a aidé à mettre sur pied le Service de crise pour aînés qui offre aux personnes âgées du soutien à domicile en cas de situation critique.

Mme Walko a également dirigé l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du programme Enhanced Mobile Support (Soutien mobile amélioré), un service de gestion des cas à domicile qui offre du soutien personnel 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, aux clients qui font face à des défis en matière de santé mentale ou de toxicomanie. Actuellement, ce programme vient en aide à 51 clients annuellement.

Mme Walko fait preuve d’une incroyable capacité à tisser des liens et à changer les choses dans sa communauté, en transformant la vie des gens.

Haut de page


Brian Dunne – RLISS du Sud-Ouest

Brian Dunne a dirigé la croissance de l’organisme Participation House Support Services et en est maintenant rendu le président-directeur général. Cet organisme appuie près de 200 personnes ayant une vaste gamme de besoins complexes en matière de soutien.

Grâce au leadership de M. Dunne, l’organisme Participation House Support Services collabore maintenant avec quatre hôpitaux et des fournisseurs de soins à domicile et dans la communauté afin d’offrir du soutien résidentiel aux personnes qui peuvent obtenir leur congé de l’hôpital en toute sécurité en recevant des soins adéquats. L’organisme Participation House Support Services offre maintenant du soutien 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, aux personnes qui sont fragiles sur le plan médical dans des foyers communautaires.

Tout au long de sa vie et de sa carrière, M. Dunne a répondu au besoin des personnes ayant divers handicaps afin qu’elles se sentent accueillies et soutenues dans la communauté, en tant que citoyens à part entière.

Haut de page


Catégorie Patients, familles et soignants exceptionnels :

Randy Filinski - RLISS du Centre-Est

Résident de longue date de Pickering, en Ontario, Randy Filinski a pris sa retraite d’IBM en 2003 et s’est ensuite beaucoup intéressé au domaine de la santé, tout particulièrement aux soins de santé offerts aux aînés du point de vue du consommateur et du fournisseur de soins.

M. Filinski est membre de la Ontario Patient/Caregiver Advisory Table, qui conseille le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, du point de vue du patient et consommateur, au sujet des efforts stratégiques visant à améliorer la prestation des soins à domicile et dans la communauté. En 2016, M. Filinski a été invité à se joindre au Comité consultatif des patients et des familles du RLISS du Centre-Est et a été choisi comme l’un des coprésidents du comité au début de 2017.

En tant que représentant de la communauté pour l’initiative End of Life Care de l’hôpital de Rouge Valley Ajax, et grâce à son leadership visant à faciliter les forums communautaires, M. Filinski a joué un rôle déterminant en aidant l’hôpital à tenir compte des commentaires des patients et des fournisseurs de soins.

M. Filinski fait preuve d’un engagement soutenu et d’une persévérance qui permettent d’améliorer les résultats à l’échelle du système et l’expérience personnelle des patients, des familles et des fournisseurs de soins.

Haut de page

Pour en savoir plus

Pour les questions qui se rapportent à la Médaille ministérielle, veuillez nous contacter à l'adresse suivante : ministermedal@ontario.ca.

 
  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS