Emergency Health Services

Certification and Patient Care Standards Overview

Certification and Patient Care Standards (CPCS) of Emergency Health Services is responsible for the Advanced Emergency Medical Care Assistants (AEMCA), Advanced Care Paramedics (ACP) and Aeromedical theory examinations.

In addition, CPCS monitors changes in pre-hospital emergency patient care practices and equipment, maintains paramedic practice standards, and develops training bulletins and other reference materials that direct paramedic practice.


Paramedics in Ontario

In order to perform controlled acts and other advanced medical procedures in Ontario, a paramedic must:

  • have the appropriate certificate from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC);
  • be employed by a certified ambulance service; and
  • be authorized by the medical director of an Ontario regional base hospital program.

Training

There are three levels of paramedic in Ontario; Primary Care Paramedic (PCP), Advanced Care Paramedic (ACP) and Critical Care Paramedic (CCP). Specific controlled acts for the various levels of paramedics are listed in the Schedules of Ontario Regulation 257/00 as made under the Ambulance Act.

The Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities sets the program standards for PCP and ACP paramedic training programs. A list of approved colleges and training institutions that offer PCP and ACP training programs can be found on the Paramedic Training Programs page. Contact the training institution directly to obtain information on admission and program requirements.

Aerophysiology (flight paramedic training program) and CCP training is offered by Ornge. Please contact Ornge directly for more information on admission and program requirements for these programs.

Training outside of Ontario

If you have received paramedic training or other medical training outside of Ontario and wish to become a paramedic in Ontario, please see the information under Labour Mobility and Equivalency in Ontario.


Certification

If you have successfully completed a PCP, ACP or Aerophysiology training program from an approved college or training institution in Ontario, you may be eligible to apply to the applicable theory examination.

You can only apply to the ACP and Aeromedical theory examinations if you already hold an AEMCA certificate. Visit exam dates and application packages for theory examinations.

The CCP examination is offered through Ornge.


Certificate Copies

A replacement of your original certificate can be obtained for a fee. Please note that the name that appears on your certificate will be exactly as you had recorded it when you originally applied to the exam. Should you require a name change, please specify this in writing with your request and provide a copy of official documentation (e.g. a marriage license) to support the change in name.

AEMCA or Emergency Medical Care Assistant (EMCA) Certificate

$60.00 original
$30.00 photocopy

ACP Certificate

$25.00 original
$15.00 photocopy

Aeromedical Certificate

$25.00 original
$15.00 photocopy

Please make your request in writing and include a certified cheque or money order payable to the Minister of Finance and include your current contact information. Please forward your request and administration fee to CPCS.


Employment

Individuals should refer to the qualifications required by Ontario Regulation 257/00 Part III 6-8 to be employed in Ontario as a paramedic. Certified ambulance services in Ontario are regulated by MOHLTC under the authority of the Ambulance Act and its regulations. All applications for employment should be made directly to the services in which you are interested.

For paramedics or other healthcare professionals, who obtained their training outside of Ontario, and are looking for employment, please see the information under Labour Mobility and Equivalency in Ontario.


Return to Practice in Ontario

MOHLTC AEMCA, ACP and Aeromedical certificates do not expire; however there are maintenance of certification requirements with respect to employment and base hospital certification in order to be recognized as a PCP, ACP or flight paramedic in Ontario.

Prior to your return to practice as a paramedic following an extended leave, you may need to familiarize yourself with updated patient care standards that have been released since you graduated from your paramedic training program and/or discontinued practice.


Contact Us

Mailing Address:
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Certification and Patient Care Standards
5700 Yonge Street, 6th Floor
Toronto, ON M2M 4K5

Phone: 416-327-7900
Fax: 416-327-7911
Email: CertificationExams@ontario.ca

For More Information

Emergency Health Services
5700 Yonge Street, 6th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
Canada   M2M 4K5

Tel : 1-800-461-6431 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
In Toronto : (416) 327-7900
Fax: : 416-327-7911
Email : websitecontact.moh@ontario.ca

 

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Services de santé d'urgence

Aperçu de l’accréditation et des normes de soins aux patients

L’Unité de l’accréditation et des normes de soins aux patients (ANSP) de la Direction de la réglementation et de la responsabilisation des services de santé d’urgence (DRRSSU) est responsable de l’administration des examens théoriques de préposée ou préposé aux soins médicaux spécialisés d’urgence (PSMSU), d’ambulancière paramédicale ou d’ambulancier paramédical de niveau avancé (APNA) et d’ambulancière aéromédicale ou d’ambulancier aéromédical.

De plus, l’Unité de l’ANSP surveille les changements apportés aux pratiques de soins d’urgence préhospitaliers et au matériel connexe, tient à jour les normes de pratique paramédicale et produit des bulletins de formation ainsi que de la documentation de référence s’y rapportant.


Le personnel ambulancier paramédical en Ontario

Pour pouvoir exécuter des actes autorisés et d’autres interventions médicales de niveau avancé en Ontario, le personnel ambulancier paramédical doit :

  • être titulaire du certificat approprié délivré par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD);
  • être employé par un fournisseur agréé de services d’ambulance;
  • avoir l’autorisation de la directrice médicale ou du directeur médical d’un programme de base hospitalière régionale de l’Ontario.

Formation

Il y a trois niveaux de personnel ambulancier paramédical en Ontario : ambulancière paramédicale ou ambulancier paramédical de premier niveau (APPN), ambulancière paramédicale ou ambulancier paramédical de niveau avancé (APNA) et ambulancière paramédicale ou ambulancier paramédical de niveau spécialisé (APNS). La liste des actes autorisés pour chacun de ces niveaux se trouve dans les annexes du Règlement de l’Ontario 257/00 pris en vertu de la Loi sur les ambulances (en anglais seulement).

Le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités établit les normes des programmes de formation aux professions d’APPN et d’APNA. La liste des collèges et autres établissements agréés qui offrent ces programmes se trouve sur la page consacrée aux programmes de formation paramédicale. Communiquez directement avec l’établissement qui vous intéresse pour vous renseigner sur ses critères d’admission et les exigences de ces programmes.

Les formations en aérophysiologie (programme de formation en soins aéromédicaux) et des APNS sont assurées par Ornge. Veuillez communiquer directement avec Ornge pour vous renseigner sur les critères d’admission et les exigences de ces programmes.

Formation ailleurs qu’en Ontario

Si vous avez suivi une formation paramédicale ou médicale ailleurs qu’en Ontario et vous souhaitez faire partie du personnel ambulancier paramédical en Ontario, veuillez consulter les renseignements qui se trouvent sous Mobilité de la main-d’œuvre et équivalence en Ontario.


Agrément

Une fois que vous avez achevé avec succès un programme de formation à la profession d’APPN ou d’APNA, ou un programme de formation en aérophysiologie, auprès d’un collège ou autre établissement de formation agréé en Ontario, il se peut que vous puissiez présenter une demande d’inscription à l’examen théorique applicable.

Vous ne pouvez demander à vous inscrire à l’examen théorique des APNA, ou des ambulancières ou ambulanciers aéromédicaux qu’à condition d’être déjà titulaire d’un certificat de PSMSU. Consultez les dates et les trousses de demande d’inscription des examens théoriques.

L’examen théorique des APNS est offert par l’entremise d’Ornge.


Certificats et copies

Vous pouvez vous procurer une copie de votre certificat moyennant paiement. Veuillez noter que le nom qui figure sur votre certificat correspond à celui qui vous avez utilisé lors de votre demande d’inscription à l’examen. Si vous avez besoin de changer ce nom, veuillez le préciser par écrit dans votre demande de copie de certificat et fournir une pièce justificative (certificat de mariage, par exemple).

Certificat de PSMSU

Original : 60 $
Photocopie : 30 $

Certificat d’APNA

Original : 25 $
Photocopie : 15 $

Certificat d’ambulancière aéromédicale ou d’ambulancier aéromédical

Original : 25 $
Photocopie : 15 $

Veuillez faire votre demande par écrit auprès de l’ANSP en y joignant vos coordonnées actuelles et un chèque certifié ou un mandat à l’ordre du ministre des Finances équivalent au montant des frais d’administration.


Emploi

Les personnes intéressées sont invitées à consulter les qualifications exigées par le Règlement de l’Ontario, partie III, articles 6 à 8 pour faire partie du personnel ambulancier paramédical en Ontario (en anglais seulement). En Ontario, les fournisseurs de services d’ambulance agréés sont réglementés par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) en vertu de la Loi sur les ambulances et de ses règlements d’application. Les demandes d’emploi doivent être adressées directement au fournisseur de services d’ambulance qui vous intéresse.

Les professionnels de la santé paramédicaux ou autres qui ont suivi une formation ailleurs qu’en Ontario et qui sont à la recherche d’un emploi sont invités à consulter les renseignements qui se trouvent sous Mobilité de la main-d’œuvre et équivalence en Ontario.


Retour à la profession en Ontario

Les certificats de PSMSU, d’APNA et de personnel ambulancier aéromédical délivrés par le MSSLD n’expirent pas. Cependant, certaines exigences de maintien d’agrément en ce qui concerne l’emploi et l’agrément auprès d’une base hospitalière s’appliquent afin d’être reconnu/e comme APPN, APNA ou comme ambulancière aéromédicale ou ambulancier aéromédical en Ontario.

Avant de reprendre le travail dans une profession paramédicale après un arrêt prolongé, il se peut que vous deviez vous familiariser avec des normes de soins aux patients mises à jour depuis l’obtention de votre agrément paramédical ou votre cessation d’activité professionnelle.


Pour nous joindre

Adresse postale :
Unité de l’accréditation et des normes de soins aux patients
Direction de la réglementation et de la responsabilisation des services de santé d’urgence
Ministère de la Santé et de Soins de longue durée
5700, rue Yonge, 6e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M2M 4K5

Téléphone : 416 327-7900
Télécopieur : 416 327-7911
CertificationExams@ontario.ca

Pour en savoir plus

Les Services de santé d’urgence
5700 rue Yonge, 6ème étage
Toronto, Ontario
Canada   M2M 4K5

Tel : 1 800-461-6431 (sans frais)
À Toronto : 416 327-7900
Fax: : 416 327-7911
Courriel : websitecontact.moh@ontario.ca

 

Appelez la ligne Info de ServiceOntario
1 800 268-1154 (sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416 327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 17 h

  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS