About the Ministry

Minister of Health and Long-Term Care

The Honorable Dr. Helena Jaczek, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care

Honorable Dr. Helena Jaczek

Dr. Helena Jaczek was first elected to the Ontario legislature in 2007 as the MPP for Oak Ridges-Markham. She was re-elected in 2011 and 2014.

Jaczek currently serves as Minister of Health and Long-Term Care, as well as Chair of Cabinet.

She has previously served as Minister of Community and Social Services, as well as Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care, the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health Promotion.

Dr. Jaczek has also served on the Standing Committee on Social Policy, as Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on General Government, the Select Committee on Mental Health and Addictions, and the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs.

After coming to Canada from England as a 12 year old, Dr. Jaczek later received her medical degree and Master of Health Sciences from the University of Toronto and a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business at York University.

After many years in general practice on staff at Women’s College Hospital in Toronto, Dr. Jaczek became the Medical Officer of Health and Commissioner of Health Services for the Regional Municipality of York. During her 18 years in this position, she was responsible for public health, land ambulance and long-term care in a region of more than one million people.

Dr. Jaczek has been actively involved with numerous community organizations, including the Ontario Great Lakes Renewal Foundation, York Centre for Children, Youth and Families, York Region District Health Council, Giant Steps Toronto and Newmarket Stingrays Swim Club. She has volunteered with the Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council and mentored foreign-trained professionals.

Dr. Jaczek’s involvement with numerous health and community organizations has earned her prestigious awards from the University of Toronto’s Public Health Sciences Alumni association, the Association of Local Public Health Agencies and York Region. In 2016, Dr. Jaczek received the Ontario Psychological Association Public Service Award and the Ontario Medical Association, Life Membership Award. And in April 2017, she was awarded the Helen Keller Award by the Canadian Foundation for Physically Disabled Persons and the Canadian Helen Keller Centre for the contributions she has made to hearing and visually impaired Ontarians.

Dr. Jaczek lives in York Region with her partner, Hershel. She is the mother of two adult children, Natasha and Nicholas.

Send an e-mail to the Minister

Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister

John Fraser
MPP Ottawa South

2016 Parliamentary Assistant Mandate Letter

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Le ministère

Ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée

L'honorable D<sup>re</sup> Helena Jaczek, Ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée

L'honorable Dre Helena Jaczek

La Dre Helena Jaczek a été élue pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario comme députée d’Oak Ridges – Markham en 2007. Elle a été réélue en 2011 et en 2014.

La Dre Helena Jaczek occupe présentement les fonctions de ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de même que de présidente du Conseil des ministres.

Elle était précédemment ministre des Services sociaux et communautaires ainsi qu’adjointe parlementaire à la ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, au ministre de l’Environnement et au ministre de la Promotion de la santé.

La Dre Jaczek a aussi siégé au Comité permanent de la politique sociale, en tant que vice‑présidente du Comité permanent des affaires gouvernementales, au Comité spécial de la santé mentale et des dépendances et au Comité permanent des finances et des affaires économiques.

Après son arrivée au Canada à l’âge de 12 ans, en provenance d’Angleterre, la Dre Jaczek a obtenu son diplôme de médecine et sa maîtrise en sciences de la santé à l’Université de Toronto. Elle est également titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business, Université York.

Après avoir travaillé pendant de nombreuses années en médecine générale à l’Hôpital Women’s College à Toronto, la Dre Jaczek est devenue médecin hygiéniste et commissaire des services de santé de la municipalité régionale de York. Pendant ses 18 années à ce poste, elle a assumé la responsabilité de la santé publique, des services d’ambulance terrestre et des soins de longue durée dans une région de plus d’un million d’habitants.

La Dre Jaczek a été active au sein de nombreux organismes communautaires comme la Fondation ontarienne de régénération des Grands Lacs, le York Centre for Children, Youth and Families, le Conseil régional de santé du district de York, Giant Steps Toronto et le Newmarket Stingrays Swim Club. Elle a fait du bénévolat auprès du Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council et a servi de mentor à des professionnels formés à l’étranger.

La Dre Jaczek a été active au sein de nombreux organismes de santé et organismes communautaires, ce qui lui a valu des récompenses prestigieuses de la Public Health Sciences Alumni Association de l’Université de Toronto, de l’Association of Local Public Health Agencies et de la région de York. En 2016, la Dre Jaczek a reçu le prix d’excellence en service public de l’Ontario Psychological Association (Association de psychologie de l’Ontario) ainsi que le prix Membre à vie de l’Ontario Medical Association (Association médicale de l’Ontario). En avril 2017, elle s’est vu remettre le prix Helen Keller décerné par la Canadian Foundation for Physically Disabled Persons (Fondation canadienne pour les personnes ayant une déficience physique) et le Centre canadien Helen Keller pour son apport aux Ontariennes et Ontariens ayant une déficience auditive et visuelle.

La Dre Jaczek vit dans la région de York avec son partenaire, Hershel. Elle a deux enfants adultes, Natasha et Nicholas.

Envoyez un courriel au ministre

Adjoints parlementaire

John Fraser
Député d'Ottawa-Sud

Lettre de mandat à l’intention de l’adjoint parlementaire pour 2016

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h